top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureIzzy Wilson of Appalachia!

More Labels than Soup

I'm so tempted to list my 14 diagnoses here. Want so much to trust you and make myself 100% transparent; but I anticipate becoming a public, historical figure (if not soon, post mortem for sure) and we learned from media that diagnoses can be used in attempts to make me seem ill, hysterical or other use discredit or undermine me.


So there's all these labels. Every time I sign into MyChart they are right there, sometimes a comfort and often an annoying reminder of things I now longer am (e.g. my blood pressure/hypertension was a reaction to other meds and my bp has been stable for a year). However, I learned a few years ago, that it takes an act of God to change medical records. Back then it wasn't bp, it was an error that said I had been an addict (true) and an Iv drug user (never true). Took many correspondences over eighteen months to get it corrected.


Labels are great for lil Izzy who loved to compartmentalize and store the boxes away. Lil Izzy would automatically assign boxes that were not always accurate and prevented her from seeing the whole person. It works like profiling but it's intention is survival not discrimination. And lil Izzy found out, upon growing up, that she was, in fact, hurting herself with this tendency more than she knew.


I was wearing glasses about me and the rest of my circle. I was thinking in black and white. Then, much to my astonishment, I let it go. Dialectical Behavioral Therapy gets most of the credit, but there is favor to so many who showed me they didn't fit in a box, my narrative was unique to me and it was often vastly different than my contacts.


I rejected gender labels the moment it was pointed out to me that male and female were just constructs (boxes!) that helped keep us divided. They had me at constructs!



What r your labels?

What do people assume about persons with those labels that is accurate about you?


That is inaccurate?


What constructs do you reject?




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To regret or nah?

I met Judy Chicago, a brilliant feminist and multiple instrument artist, in the late 90s. I admired her work enormously and the director of the women's studies program knew this and asked me to drive

Oh The Fragility of Our Heroines

I penned that line in reference to my then two-year old play-walking with my Mom's cane. As a freshman in college my mother's death...let alone mine...was almost unfathomable. In 1999 Mom passed, wee

bottom of page